Once you created and saved your dashboard, you can share it with others. By default, all new dashboards are private, meaning that they are available for viewing by only the owner (you). You can change the access level of your dashboard by:
- Making it public to all.
- Sharing it with particular registered users by specifying their e-mail addresses.
- Sharing it with anyone by link.
- Transferring the ownership to another registered user (owner of a dashboard is able to remove it and see the history of changes).
If you make a dashboard public to all, it will become discoverable by other users via search or in Data Insights. If you want your dashboard to appear in the Data Insights under a particular topic, you need to add a tag to your dashboard by clicking Edit under the dashboard title.
Making the dashboard public to all is also necessary if you want to 'embed' visualizations from the dashboard on your website or blog.
If you share a dashboard with registered users, you can control the level of access:
- View means that only specified users will be able to open the dashboard
- Edit means that specified users will be able to make changes to the dashboard
- Full control means that specified users will be able to edit, delete, and share the dashboard with others
You have created or found on the system a dashboard, presentation, or another page that you want to share with another person (who has access to this system). You have a few options.
If you did not create this page
If this page is available to you but you did not build it, make sure the chart is shareable first.
Do you see a globe icon in the action bar? If yes, this is a public resource. Simply click the sharing icon and grab the link.
Or, from the globe icon menu, choose Sharing Options:
Share using the user's e-mail.
If you do not see a globe icon in the action bar but you do see Save a Copy, click that to create your own personal copy that you can then share with others. This version will be saved to the private mode automatically as a precaution and you will need to send a share link or going through Sharing Options to set specific permissions per user.
If you created this page
WARNING: If you created this page and make it public (globe icon) and the system administrators have enabled public sharing, all members of your platform community will be able to view this page. If you keep it private, only those with a share link or who you grant access via Sharing Options (View, Edit, Complete Control) will be able to see it. Bear in mind that a shared link through the sharing icon, if shared onward to other users, will give others access to this page. Do not use it if you wish to keep complete control over who sees your page. You can always remove this link from Sharing Options if needed.
You can decide to share the page by sending another user a share link, or by going through Sharing Options again from the padlock/globe menu in the action bar to assign the user access to edit the page or complete control. Complete control means the user will be able to edit as well as to share the resource with others.
You may also opt to Save a Copy from the action bar to create a new copy that you can then share to others. This version will be saved to the private mode automatically as a precaution and you will need to send a share link or going through Sharing Options to set specific permissions per user.
Note: All pages must be public if you want to embed a chart for all members of the community to view. If private, only members you have shared it with via Sharing Options will see the embedded chart.